Daily Reading?

August 11, 2009 at 10:08 am (All about the books baby!, Daily Ramblings)

I got back from vacation and M. decided to take a side job about an hour and a half away and he wanted me to come with him because he didn’t want to drive alone, and we could spend time together! And on top of that I could go by a book to have something to do while he did a transmission! So I went with every intention of buying Breaking Dawn (because I am done with Eclipse) but it wasn’t there in paperback and I didn’t want to spend a small fortune on the hardcover when I prefer paperback! Anywho I started searching for something to read, Jen Lancaster’s Pretty in Plaid was just in hardcover so I moved on again! I decided to buy some classics that I haven’t read, I bought Jane Eyre and The Other Boyeln Sister! I’m just starting Jane Eyre, but I feel like I’ve missed out until now so I am going to try and catch up on all of the classics that I can stand to read!!

Any suggestions??

11 Comments

  1. Grand Pooba said,

    Depends on your definition of classics! If you haven’t read Little Women, then you’ve definately gotta start there. I’ve read pride and prejudice and it took me forever to read, I just lost interest and it was confusing because I couldn’t remember all the characters. What I found that helped is to print off a list of all the characters in the book so if you forget you can just reference the sheet.

    But To Kill A Mocking Bird is my absolute favorite book!

  2. survivinglifedaily said,

    To Kill a Mockingbird is on my list! I will probably get that one next, I was afraid of Pride and Prejudice because I didn’t know if I would be into it, so maybe I’ll try it with a character list!

  3. Blond Duck said,

    Hmmm…I’m not very good with classics, unless you’re talking children’s books.

  4. debbie said,

    I ac tually have a post in my drafts folder about reading classics! Some I like – some I don’t. I’ll be interested in seeing what your readers recommend.

  5. Eva Gallant said,

    I loved Wuthering Heights; Gone With the Wind; Lady Chatterly’s Lover; The Scarlett Letter.

    Just stopping by from SITS; hope you find time to do the same.

  6. Gwyn said,

    Jane Eyre is one of my favorites! I agree Wuthering Heights is good too and so are Gone with the Wind and Scarlet.

  7. The Cubicle's Backporch said,

    The Other Boleyn Girl is one of my favorite books of all time. Really. I think I’ve probably said that a million times, so forgive me for repeating.

    Not sure if yer a big $ex and the City fan, but I really like that author… even though you said ‘classics’, hee hee. Two of her books are Trading Up and Lipstick Jungle.

  8. survivinglifedaily said,

    I will have to try Wurthering Heights and the Sex and the City author!

  9. Blond Duck said,

    Dont’ worry–we’ll have more balls at the Pond..

  10. Kelly said,

    Oh, there’s so many! How about A Tale of Two Cities or The Once and Future King? I’ve read both of those several times.

  11. Kristin said,

    Emma is one of my favs!

Leave a Reply

