Twilight? Really!

July 21, 2009 at 3:39 pm (Daily Ramblings, Thought of the Day)

This weekend I was out of reading material and I had a long weekend to sit in the house while the renovations were being done on our pipes and in the kitchen by M.’s dad (a post in and of itself) so I went to my bookstore and they are remodelling! Damn it all, I was just getting used to the layout. Anyway, I went in thinking

“Geesh, Courtney, everyone is on this Harry Potter wagon why don’t you do it to?”

So I asked the lady where the Harry Potter books are and she led me to the KID section! The first book was like 200 pages or so and I knew that wouldn’t last me but an hour, and M. would kill me if I needed another book next week already! So I wandered around with a ton of time to kill and found Twilight. I thought:

“Well, everyone is reading this, why would you want to read this?”

Then I thought well if EVERYONE reads it and likes it I could try it and if I don’t like it I will just return it! So I bought it along with an Emily Giffin book. I started the book on Sunday and was already half-way through by bedtime! This book has compeltely enveloped me in the story line, so much so that I bring the book with me everywhere (I think you get the gist of that)! I read all hour on my lunch, and crack it open the moment I get home before M. arrives!! It has taken my breath away and I absolutely can’t wait to finish and watch the movie, but I find myself hiding the cover because I don’t want everyone to think I am a person who reads what EVERYONE is reading. Granted I like a lot of authors that are popular, but I try to stay off the main trend because I don’t want to follow the “crowd” so to speak. I thought I would share with everyone that I am completely in love with Edward and Bella and can’t sit here at work without thinking about how I can sneak this big honkin book out on my desk without anyone noticing!

Has anyone else been completely enraptured with this book? Does the movie even compare to the book? And is New Moon (the next book) just as good???

Permalink 14 Comments