Did they think I couldn’t hear?

April 30, 2009 at 3:31 pm (Daily Ramblings)

Ok so the dentist was not as traumatic as it was the time before that! THANK GOD! I was literally shaking when I sat in the waiting room with M.’s arm around me for comfort. I walked back to the little room of torture, chair of a thousand deaths, room I was going to be examined in and I immediately sensed that she didn’t know I needed the “gas!” Maybe it was because there wasn’t the huge nitrous tank in the room or it could be my killer intuition, you decide. It went something like this:

With a look of desperation and distress in my eyes I said “I called this morning about having the gas during this procedure, they said they would tell you.”

“No one told me that you requested Nitrous, hold on”

She scurried from the room and grabbed that bottle quicker then Marion Jones on a track. She came back and strapped that blessed nose thingy on to my face and I began to breathe the deliciousness of calm!

The doctor walked in:

“Nitrous, really?”

I felt guilty at this point, so I told her how nervous I was and showed her my shaking hands and I think she got the point.

So she numbed the right side of my face, and off we went.

“Raise your left hand if you need me to stop for any reason”

She started the drill….OUCH…I raised my left hand.

“Pain?”

“MM-HMM”

She got me more novacaine, or something stronger I think that goes into the tooth. From then on I didn’t feel anything and she continuously asked if I was ok and let me know when we were almost done, so overall it wasn’t bad.

While the dentist was working on me, her assistant and her started to talk about who the laid back dentist’s were and who was uptight and how the assistant thought one dentist was on MEDS! OMG glad I didn’t get that doctor! I don’t know if they knew I could comprehend what they were saying, but I got the latest gossip in the office and I found out that my dentist has a frickin nanny! I guess I know where my money is going egh? Oh well, she was pleasent, and seemed genuinely concerned that I was doing ok! I have to go back two more times to get the posts in and get a crown…fun stuff! My mouth is killing me today, but they assured me advil/ibuprofen would help, not so much! I can only eat soft food till the pain goes away, because I can’t really bite down! GRR! So more soup and no sugar, no fat ice cream for me!

It’s Thursday…only 1 1/2 days left till the weekend!!

6 Comments

  1. The Cubicle's Backporch said,

    That’s kind of unprofessional isn’t it? For them to be talking about other people while you’re in the chair? I guess it gave you something to listen to. I’ve never had a female dentist, just males.

    I’m glad you got through it semi-painlessly! I think the worst part is the noises that I can hear while they’re working. Yuck!!

  2. survivinglifedaily said,

    Yea, the grinding noises are definitely off-putting, I think that’s why I listened so intently to the gossip, so it would take my mind off of it! A little unprofessional I think too, and this was the first time I had a women dentist, at least she was more compassionate then the male dentists!

  3. Producing and the Australian Dream » Blog Archive » Quick scan of the net - tankroom said,

    […] https://survivinglifedaily.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/did-they-think-i-couldnt-hear/Ok so the dentist was not as traunatic as it was the time before that! THANK GOD! I was literally shaking when I sat in the waiting room with M.’s arm around me for comfort. I walked back to the little room of torture, … […]

  4. Producing and the Australian Dream » Blog Archive » Quick scan of the net - tankroom said,

    […] https://survivinglifedaily.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/did-they-think-i-couldnt-hear/Ok so the dentist was not as traunatic as it was the time before that! THANK GOD! I was literally shaking when I sat in the waiting room with M.’s arm around me for comfort. Low Rate Credit Card I walked back to the little room of torture, … […]

  5. Producing and the Australian Dream » Blog Archive » Quick scan of the net - tankroom said,

    […] https://survivinglifedaily.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/did-they-think-i-couldnt-hear/Ok so the dentist was not as traunatic as it was the time before that! THANK GOD! I was literally shaking when I sat in the waiting room with M.’s arm around me for comfort. World Newest Technologies and Gadgets I walked back to the little room of torture, … […]

  6. Producing and the Australian Dream » Blog Archive » Quick scan of the net - tankroom said,

    […] https://survivinglifedaily.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/did-they-think-i-couldnt-hear/Ok so the dentist was not as traunatic as it was the time before that! THANK GOD! I was literally shaking when I sat in the waiting room with M.’s arm around me for comfort. Cheap Flights from Brisbane to Osaka I walked back to the little room of torture, … […]

Leave a Reply

